NBA Awards LEDAP for Criminal Justice Reforms

The Nigerian Bar Association (NBA), Criminal Justice Reform Committee held its 5th Criminal Justice Reform Conference in Asaba, Delta State from the 24th – 27th April 2018. At the closing dinner of the Conference, a number of distinguished stakeholders were honoured for their immense contributions to the progress of criminal justice administration in the country.

Mr Chino Obiagwu being presented with the award by Delta State Attorney-General, Mr Peter Mrakpor
Mr Chino Obiagwu being presented with the award by Delta State Attorney-General, Mr Peter Mrakpor

The national coordinator of LEDAP, Mr Chino Obiagwu was one of those honoured for his outstanding contributions in the reform of criminal justice administration in Nigeria. According to the NBA, the award was made in recognition of Mr Obiagwu’s role as the Chairman of the National Working Group on the Reform of Criminal Justice in Nigeria between 2004 and 2009, which prepared the first draft of the Administration of Criminal Justice Bill (ACJA) that was eventually passed into an Act of the National Assembly in 2015.

Chino Obiagwu (left) and the other awardees

Other awardees at the well attended conference were Prof Yemi Akinseye-George SAN who was the secretary of the working group and later secretary of the Panel on Justice Reform, Fola Arthur Worry, a member of the Working Group and former Director of Public Prosecutions of Lagos state, Deji Adekunle the DG of Nigerian Institute of Advanced Legal Studies and a champion of ACJA, as well as the current President of NBA Mr. A.B. Mahmoud SAN, J.B. Daudu SAN and G. A. Tetengi SAN who were the past chairmen of the NBA Criminal Justice Committee. Also honoured was the Governor of Delta State, Ifeanyi Okowa for his support to NBA’s criminal justice reform initiatives.

Institutional awards were also given to the MacArthur Foundation for supporting criminal justice reform over the years and to Yaradu’a Center.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *